Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
ModelsRailroadsRockets
Radio Controlled
Air ModelsHelicoptersLand ModelsWater Models
ModelGeeks.com
Contact UsLink To UsSearch & Site Map

Model Forum / Radio Controlled / Land Models / December 2005



Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Suspect ebay sales

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Richard - 20 Dec 2005 10:27 GMT
Was having a browse around on ebay this afternoon and came across a
interesting sale for about 13 Revo's, a couple of nitro boats and 8 Cen
Nemesis 7.7's.

The guy is selling them in 24 hours, in Aust dollars all starting at $19
+$65 postage coming from China but strangely enough he is in germany
(according to ebay anyway) and his last sale was in october. He will not
except any other payment other than Western Union or direct wire payment.

Does anyone else think this sounds a little suspect?

Dunno if this link will work for anyone but give it a try:
http://search.ebay.com.au/_W0QQsassZmicha2009

Cheers
Richard
nospam@noway.com - 20 Dec 2005 13:51 GMT
> Was having a browse around on ebay this afternoon and came across a
> interesting sale for about 13 Revo's, a couple of nitro boats and 8 Cen
[quoted text clipped - 12 lines]
> Cheers
> Richard

Sounds VERY suspect.  I'd drop E-Bay a line and give them the heads up.

Doc
ephedralover@hotmail.com - 20 Dec 2005 17:38 GMT
> Was having a browse around on ebay this afternoon and came across a
> interesting sale for about 13 Revo's, a couple of nitro boats and 8 Cen
[quoted text clipped - 12 lines]
> Cheers
> Richard

I never ever do business with anyone who only accepts money
orders/transfers.
MacPhreak - 20 Dec 2005 22:13 GMT
> Was having a browse around on ebay this afternoon and came across a
> interesting sale for about 13 Revo's, a couple of nitro boats and 8 Cen
[quoted text clipped - 12 lines]
> Cheers
> Richard

I could not see the auction in question but notice one thing! His
feedback is perfect. This does not mean his deal is good or bad but it
is a pretty good indication of good intention. Also, I have seen many
many many ebay sellers that are from one place and ship from an
other(especially Video Games and Movies). Maybe it's a  dropship or
instead of paying for shipping to himself and then have to charge
shipping again possibly bringing the price of his items up therefore
reducing his actual profit. The 24 hour thing is rather odd but not out
of the question if one wanted to get rid of his stock real fast. I do
find the method of payment a little questionable but again he may not be
set up to accept Paypal or any other form of credit card.

All this being said, always be careful and try to cover all the bases
when dealing on ebay. Paypal offers good protection against crappie
sellers and faulty equipment(if electronic). I deal a lot on ebay and
find it to be a great place to get things you normally could not find
elsewhere or get a great deal.

Do you have the link to the actual auction listing?

MacPhreak.
DanTXD - 20 Dec 2005 22:37 GMT
>> Was having a browse around on ebay this afternoon and came across a
>> interesting sale for about 13 Revo's, a couple of nitro boats and 8 Cen
[quoted text clipped - 16 lines]
> is perfect. This does not mean his deal is good or bad but it is a pretty
> good indication of good intention.

No shadow of a doubt in my mind that it's a hi-jacked account.

Signature

Dan

Peter James - 21 Dec 2005 07:37 GMT
> ...
> He will not
> except any other payment other than Western Union or direct wire payment.
>...

This form of payment now banned by ebay.co.uk
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.