Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
ModelsRailroadsRockets
Radio Controlled
Air ModelsHelicoptersLand ModelsWater Models
ModelGeeks.com
Contact UsLink To UsSearch & Site Map

Model Forum / General / Models / December 2005



Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

eB*y bot

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Rich - 12 Dec 2005 08:17 GMT
Just a heads up, and pssibly a future issue.  One of the other usegroups I
am subsribed to has begun to have some issues with a bot that hoovers up any
mention of eB*y (yes I am a little paranoid and don't want to start it
here).

Basicly, you type that word in your post and within a few minutes get an
e-mail stating that your payment or some other nonsense had not been
recieved, yada yada yada.  As often as we tend to use the word here, I
thought I should mention it, and maybe reccommend being careful before it
hits here.  I hope it is over precaution, but some strange things are
seeming to infect us here too.

OK... back to your models (yeah right).

Signature

Rich

"uhhhhh,  That's Me!"

rgronovius@hotmail.com - 12 Dec 2005 22:36 GMT
Rich, just got this very message from username harrymurphy last night:

"Hey, I have tired twice to pay you through p*yp*l but the transaction
is not working its keeps giving an error message (This recipient is
currently unable to receive money) is there anything wrong with your
p*yp*l??"

{note: I replaced the "a" with *}

Two things weren't right. First, I haven't sold in years. Second, the
message came to my non-eb*y e-mail address. Other than those two facts,
the message looked just like one you would get through the eB*y message
system.

I forwarded the message to spoof@eB*y.com so they could handle it.

RobG
frank - 12 Dec 2005 23:16 GMT
When I get something like that with poor spelling & grammar, like a
foreigner trying to work the English language, I usually suspect
something's up, too.
Gray Ghost - 13 Dec 2005 04:31 GMT
rgronovius@hotmail.com wrote in news:1134426989.588217.114110
@g47g2000cwa.googlegroups.com:

> Rich, just got this very message from username harrymurphy last night:
>
[quoted text clipped - 13 lines]
>
> RobG

Yep, my email here is a decoy, too. It's amazing how much mail it gets with
all sorts of dire warnings about my eb*y/p*yp*l accounts. Of course they
have the purple flag that says it's from usenet, so I know right away.
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2009 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.